CINDER – THE LUNAR CHRONICLES 1

 

11235712

 

Humans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

After all the hype and buzz ,I finally got to read Cinder- the first in Lunar Chronicles trilogy.  I was not sure of what  to expect for all I knew was that it is a massive retelling of the classic (and my favourite) fairy tale –“The Cinderella”. Though released back in 2012 am happy that I waited this long to get my hands on it . Reason? I was able to read the entire series at a stretch  with no waiting … Hooray me !

Review

Set in futuristic china ,Cinder is a dystopian/sci-fi story  about a cyborg named Cinder . She makes her living (and her evil stepmother’s )as a mechanic ,accompanied by android Iko –her only friend apart from her little step sister Peony. Her dull life changes when prince Kai visits her store . Since then several truths are revealed , the mysteries of Lunar lingering makes sense and before she could realize what was happening she is pulled into the plot. As an accident she learns about Queen Levana ‘s malign plan . Does she succeed in bringing the lunar Queen’s treacherous plans to light or does she get herself knocked up forms the rest of the story.

 The plot

The plot doesn’t have much of twists for I could guess all the glimpses . but even so it is captivating .There were times when I felt a character or a scene was out of the league but when I kept nearing the end of the book it all came together ! The last chapter had me in shock .I was expecting the big reveal which did come after all ,but accompanied by a totally  unexpected twist . And my mind went like puff ! This book sure ends in a cliff hanger making me beg for more .

Characters

Cinder IS a normal girl with love for tools. I loved the fact that she is shown to have certain faults . I like it when the main character is not all goody goody and perfect because in real life it isn’t . The transformation into cyborg left her past in the shadow.

Speaking about Prince Kai , he is shown to be wise beyond his age but bewildered new emperor to when the King dies of the plague . and of course the heartthrob of the nation. Assisted by the royal adviser Kai he takes decision that ensures safety of his people . Devastated to find the cure he is left with no choice but to accept the unacceptable .From time and again his love for his country is to a T. He would go any heights to protect his promise.

I wished Cinder and Kai to be together right from the beginning . Awaiting scenes that sparkle up.But I was a bit let down . Personally I did like kai but was not drawn to him . May be that was for a good reason because …( I shall tell you in my Scarlet book review) *wink*

Queen Levana is a bi**h. All the while she made me go like ggrrrr . I I had been a wolf I would have torn her life apart. She get points for being the evil queen  though.

Adri and Pearl,Stepmother and stepsister of Cinder . I have extreme grudge over them for treating cinder the way they did . They are the one who should have been caught by the plague and not the innocent .

Stars

This book promises much and is a strong start to a trilogy . though a retelling it is more of a new version rather than sticking to the old . it matches only in few aspects as in the evil stepmother and the ball and the final staircase where Cinderella loses her shoe or in this case parts of her body . I would rate it a 4 just because there was too much foreshadowing .

Thanks for reading down till hear . Love your support !

Until next time ,

XOXO

You could follow me on the following social media

Goodreads- https://www.goodreads.com/user/show/23012037-percy-reads

Twitter- https://twitter.com/percyreads

Instagram- https://www.instagram.com/percyreads/

Tumblr- https://www.tumblr.com/blog/percyreads

Leave a Reply

